Who Am I, Nora Roberts?

18 Nov

I quite frequently have very vivid dreams that are super strange. For instance, I once had a dream that Rachel and I were in our middle school gymnasium (as adults) and there was a dinosaur show happening. Yes, there were real, live dinosaurs on display in the gym; it was a living museum. I was especially enamored with the Stegosaurus. Then, much like Jurassic Park, the dinosaurs got out and everyone had to run and hide from the T Rex. Rachel and I ended up at her parents’ house. Thank goodness there were no Velociraptors. We all would have been goners.

Last night, I had what may have been the best dream ever. It was like the start to a romance novel, although not a smutty one like I’m prone to reading. It was very realistic and I woke up feeling like it had actually happened- I certainly wished that it had actually happened. Here it goes (I’m really writing this so I can remember it forever and ever and ever, but I figured I’d share it with the world as well. Hi, World!):

It started out as a scene from Modern Family. I was Alex and I was with Claire and Haley in a hotel room that was infested with mice. We brought in a cat to catch them. This is really not relevant to the rest of the dream, but I thought it was hysterical. The setting then morphed into a beer garden in some European town (it was either in Belgium or Germany; those details were fuzzy. Also, I’ve never been to either of those countries so my brain created a very interesting picture of what those places look like). I was on a vacation with Rachel and Alia- it was a European adventure! Except Alia never actually appeared in the dream. Anyway, for a while, I was sitting alone at a picnic table eating a soft pretzel and drinking hard cider. There was soccer on a bunch of televisions and people were ROWDY. Then Rachel and I were sitting in chaise lounges (???) and this super tall, super hot, super drunk dude came up to us and sat down on my chair and started rambling on about things that made no sense and then fell asleep. On me and my chair (if that’s not the start to an epic romance, I don’t know what is). His friend, who had been watching the whole encounter, then came over and asked if he could speak with me. He said he needed to tell me something that was going to seem very strange but was important. I agreed to speak with him.

He told me that he and his friend had been following us since the train (we had apparently taken a train to wherever we were) because, when his friend saw me, he had freaked out. He said he’d been seeing me in his dreams for his whole life and that he needed to meet me and find out who I was. He got nervous to actually speak to me and hung out at the bar for a while first, hence his extreme drunkenness. His friend asked me to just talk to him when he sobered up and told me he was a great guy. Normal, sane people would have been super creeped out and run for the hills at this point, but I stayed. I mean, this guy was ridiculously attractive. And he had been seeing me in his dreams! Oh, also, he was AUSTRALIAN. So there’s that. This guy is no one I’ve ever seen before in real life- I think he’s a composite of guys I know/celebrity crushes/this guy I follow on Instagram.

I stayed with the guy all night while he slept (he never had a name) and eventually fell asleep next to him in the chair. When we both woke up, it was like love at first sight, except that it was our second or third sight. He explained himself to me and said he wanted to get to know me so we talked all day. When he found out that I’d never been to Paris, he said that he wanted to take me and he booked a train that day. I guess I just left Rachel and Alia behind. Oops. We went to Paris and rode a rollercoaster (because that’s what you do in Paris) and it was all somehow very romantic. Then I needed to get to New York because I was apparently in a wedding and he didn’t want to part ways so he bought a ticket to come with me. And that was where it ended. Very anticlimactic, I know. I’m really hoping for part 2 tonight.

Song of the Day: Feels Like the First Time by Foreigner

Leave a Reply

