Why Did The Ghost Cross The Road?

31 Oct

To get to “The Other Side”. Ha. Just a little Halloween pun to get things rolling.

But, seriously:

In early September, we discovered that our doorbell wasn’t working. A Verizon installation guy had been ringing and ringing and finally gave me a call to come let him in. After he left, I tested the doorbell again. Nothing. Hallelujah. I hate that thing.

Being a good tenant, I let my landlord know and she said it probably needs a new battery (doorbells are powered by batteries?!?). I told her I would fix it…but I obviously never did. That doorbell is an unnecessary evil.

A few nights ago, my boyfriend and I were watching TV when he blurted out: “Oh! I forgot to tell you. Right after I got home this afternoon, the doorbell rang. I went downstairs, but no one was there.”

“Huh. That’s weird,” I said. “I thought the doorbell was broken.”

“It is,” he replied. “I tested it when I was down there and it doesn’t work.”

And then all the hairs on the back of my neck stood up and I got a pit in my stomach.

“So…it rang…even though it doesn’t work?”

“Yup. Was it the ghost?”

At this point I had to tell him to stop talking about it because I was too freaked out. I asked him later that night if he was telling the truth, and then again the next day. He was.

Apparently, while I had told him about the ghost in the apartment before he moved in, I hadn’t told him the doorbell story. He couldn’t have tried to scare me on purpose with the doorbell because HE DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT IT. And, the facts that he 1. TOOK THE SAW OUT OF THE ATTIC AND USED IT TO SAW WOOD and 2. was dream talking the other night and told me to “be careful out there; they’re watching you” make this story a whole lot creepier.

I wish he hadn’t told me while we were watching American Horror Story.

Happy Halloween!

Song of the Day: Thriller by Michael Jackson. Just because.

Leave a Reply

