The Ghost Part 3

26 Jul

Here are some of the happenings that have gone on in my apartment since the last Ghost Post:

I gathered up my courage one day and went to check out the saw in the attic, which my former roommate, H,  also had no recollection of. It’s pretty old and in bad shape.  Despite the suggestions of my mom and H, I haven’t moved the saw.

H also reminded me of the sheet music we found up there, which I had squirreled away in my desk and located when I did a huge clean up/out of my room. It’s really old- falling apart old-and is dated 1922. which is before the house was built, so someone moved in with it at some point. I think it’s Christmas music, but I can’t remember the song. I also found some old layaway/store credit tickets from a department store in Boston that I didn’t recognize the name of. I have all that stuff saved in a folder now.

In the basement, there’s a stack of old home inspection slips nailed to a post going back to 1961 which show that the house had the same owner (either James Shea or Shea James- it’s unclear) from 1961 to at least 1997, which is pretty cool. A Google search of the name(s) and the address have yielded nothing, though.

Ok, none of this has been about the ghost- I just think it’s neat. Moving on…

I’ve been hearing stuff moving around in the attic at night fairly frequently. It’s not every night, and it doesn’t last long, but there are definite thumps and creaks and what sometimes sounds like boxes sliding around. I guess it could be the wind or the house settling, but it still makes me jump every time.

The ghost has also figured out how to open candles. I’ve found two different candles in two different rooms open on two different occasions, and I KNOW no one had been using them. I keep the jars closed when they’re not lit. At least he (I feel like it’s a “he”) hasn’t figured out how to use matches and actually light them. That could be dangerous! I’ll have to teach the ghost about fire safety if it ever comes to that.

Two nights ago, my boyfriend woke up because he thought the ghost had hit him. It turned out that I had hit him (I was having a dream in which I hit someone and must have actually spazzed out and slapped his arm in my sleep), but he was still pretty freaked out and couldn’t sleep for the rest of the night. In the morning, he told me he had been hearing bells (like hand bells) ringing right above his head, loudly. I hadn’t heard these bells, nor have I ever, but I don’t think he’d make that up.

Plus, we all know how much the ghost likes bells. Ugh.

Song of the Day: Drumming Song by Florence + The Machine

One Response to “The Ghost Part 3”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Why Did The Ghost Cross The Road? | I Thought You Were Shorter - October 31, 2013

    […] IT. And, the facts that he 1. TOOK THE SAW OUT OF THE ATTIC AND USED IT TO SAW WOOD and 2. was dream talking the other night and told me to “be careful out there; they’re watching you” make this […]

Leave a Reply

