A Ghostly Update

25 Apr

A few odd things have happened around my house since the first ghost post. Ha. Ghost Post. That rhymed!

I have an alarm clock/sound machine combo that I keep on my nightstand. I used to listen to “waterfall” as I was falling asleep each night. It was delightful. Now, it’s terrifying. A month or two ago, around 3:00 am, my sound machine started emitting crazy staticky noises, which it had NEVER done before. It was LOUD. Both my boyfriend and I woke up, startled out of sleep. I hustled to turn it off as he commented “Are you trying to phone home?” I then could not stop thinking that some alien was trying to communicate with me and was too scared to sleep and I’ve been too scared to turn the sound machine on since.

Rachel and Lincoln came to visit for my birthday in March, which was lovely, except it involved day drinking and, because we are old, we were exhausted and ready for bed at 10:30 pm. I left them in the front room and was brushing my teeth when Rachel knocked on the bathroom door to ask if I had just tapped on their door. I had not. She said that she and Lincoln had been sitting in the room when the doorknob started rattling as if someone was trying to get into the room. It happened a few times. When they got up to presumably let me in, no one was there. Spooky.

Note: My apartment can be draughty. I know that. The front door to the apartment sometimes opens when the door to the building opens. The door to the attic sometimes opens when I open or shut my bedroom door. But I know that the doorknob to this particular room is secured very well in the door frame- we had to do some construction on that door when I first moved in.

A few weeks ago, I heard the door to the apartment open and figured it was a draught (see above).  (I am apparently feeling somewhat British today. I much prefer “draught” to “draft”.) I went over, shut the door firmly, and jiggled the handle to make sure the door was properly latched. A few minutes later, I heard the door open again and heard footsteps walk across the living room and then stop. I figured my roommate was home, but upon checking, I discovered that her car was not in the driveway. Then I spazzed out. I grabbed something heavy (I think it was a glass paperweight) and creeped into the living room, convinced that someone had walked into my house. No one was there. I spent the rest of the evening thoroughly freaked out.

(I’m not sure what I was going to do with the paperweight. Possibly chuck it at the intruder’s head? That wouldn’t have gone well, I’m sure. I have terrible aim. I (half-jokingly) asked my parents to buy me a hatchet last weekend so I would have some sort of weapon on hand to attack the ghost. Attacking the ghost is probably not the best plan, but the hatchet would probably come in handy during the zombie apocalypse.)

Oh, my gosh, THE SAW!!!! I keep forgetting to mention the saw!!!! So, I’ve lived in my apartment since October of 2008. That’s a fair chunk of time. I’ve been in the attic countless times. I’ve EXPLORED the attic thoroughly several times. On one of my most recent trips up there, I noticed a saw hanging on nail in the wall. I’m 97% sure it wasn’t there before. I think I would remember a saw. My mom thinks I should move it and see if it shows up again, but I’m not sure I want to make the ghost angry. I mean, it’s capable of moving a SAW.

Also, my doorbell rang on Monday. No one was there. It rang again at 11:00 last night, but I couldn’t be bothered to get out of bed and check the front stoop this time.

Song of the Day: I’m Not Calling You A Liar by Florence + the Machine

4 Responses to “A Ghostly Update”

  1. Heather April 25, 2013 at 1:24 pm #

    As that used to be my room, I DO NOT remember there being a saw. I think I would have noticed that. Remember when we found that really old sheet music? Move the saw.

    • ithoughtyouwereshorter April 25, 2013 at 1:43 pm #

      I forgot about the sheet music!!! Where did that end up- do you know? Also, thank you for backing up my thoughts on the saw- it totally just showed up one day!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The Ghost Part 3 | I Thought You Were Shorter - July 26, 2013

    […] Here are some of the happenings that have gone on in my apartment since the last Ghost Post: […]

  2. Why Did The Ghost Cross The Road? | I Thought You Were Shorter - October 31, 2013

    […] me on purpose with the doorbell because HE DIDN’T KNOW ABOUT IT. And, the facts that he 1. TOOK THE SAW OUT OF THE ATTIC AND USED IT TO SAW WOOD and 2. was dream talking the other night and told me to […]

Leave a Reply

