Post Holiday Holiday Post.

31 Dec

So, Rachel and I decided we were going to write holiday posts. Hers is awesome. I failed at writing mine, even though I had it all planned out. I don’t hate the holidays or anything; I just wasn’t feeling inspired. Both Thanksgiving and Christmas snuck up on me this year. So, instead of reminiscing about Christmases past, and also because it’s New Year’s Eve, I’m going to reminisce about some of my favorite moments from this past year. I was going to put them in chronological order, but I’m feeling kind of lazy.

2012:

Rachel and I started this blog. That was pretty cool.

I got to celebrate the 1st anniversaries of the three couples whose weddings I was in last year. I didn’t actually see any members of these couples on their anniversaries, or even near their anniversaries, but I did have my own private celebrations. In a non-creepy way.

I loved “True Blood” nights with M & E. We always had yummy air popped popcorn. I also loved “The Walking Dead” nights with my roommate, especially the season 3 mid-season finale where we screamed loudly, several times, and yelled a lot at the TV. Sorry, downstairs neighbors!

Rachel and I (and Lincoln) went to our disaster of a high school reunion. Although it may not have been well attended, it was great to see those who were there and catch up with old friends. I also got super drunk and threw up in my parents’ bathroom sink. I’m awesome.

At said reunion weekend, we got to see Alia and her husband. I think that may have been the one time the Trifecta was together all year. It was lovely. And we had creemees. Alia stuck her tongue in mine.

We had a super fun road trip to get to the reunion. My fondest memory from the road trip was Rachel, Lincoln, and me all singing “Shut Up” by Blink 182 at the top of our lungs. Now I think about it every time I drive to Vermont.

My good friend from work got married this fall. It was a beautiful wedding. Aside from seeing my friend walk down the aisle and celebrating the couple’s happiness, my favorite part of the wedding was when my tights, which ripped BEFORE I left my house but I wore them anyway, kept falling down and I had to take them off and throw them away in the bathroom at the reception. Luckily I had the forethought to bring boy shorts to put on under my dress. I figured going commando in a short dress at a wedding would not be classy.

I got chased by a gopher in a cemetery. Long story.

I got to go white water tubing with my roommate and friends for her birthday. It. Was. Awesome.

Rachel, Lincoln, and I went to the circus to see our friend, The Ringmaster. It was super fun. The circus is amazeballs. I also won a painting done by an elephant. Score!

My mom and I got matching pajamas for Christmas and we wore them all day. We looked adorable.

My good friend from work and I had a fabulous time at our work holiday party. Going to a party from 3 pm to 5 pm on a Thursday in a huge room full of faculty and staff from a large University may not sound like fun, but it’s seriously the best day of the year. My friend and I played “How Much Wine Can You Drink In Ten Minutes” and we both won. It was a great night, for several reasons. Instead of the Holiday Party, I’m going to start calling it The Annual Shitshow.

And, my most favorite memory from 2012 was when Miss Rachel called me from London with an announcement. I had just gotten on the bus on a Friday afternoon heading home from work when my phone rang. Rachel never calls (we communicate via text message, Facebook, email, and Snapchat exclusively), so I knew it was important. She was calling to tell me that she and Lincoln had gotten engaged and to ask me to be her maid of honor. I accepted immediately. And I cried.  I’ll never forget that afternoon.

So, there you have it. I had a pretty great 2012.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Song of the Day: Take Your Time (Coming Home) by Fun.

Leave a Reply

