I Have A Ghost

25 Oct

I recently wrote a post about my doorbell. What I left out of that post is the ghost who likes to ring said doorbell.

Yup. Ghost. I think I have a ghost.

When I first moved into my apartment, our doorbell used to ring quite frequently- and no one would be at the door. No one would be walking (or running) away from our apartment. No one would be driving away.  No one would be entering the apartment downstairs- in fact, no one even lived in the first floor apartment.

The first time it happened, I didn’t really think much of it. Then it happened again. And then it happened to my roommate. And then it happened to a friend who was visiting and volunteered to answer the door when the bell rang. We all thought it was a little eerie.

Around the time this was happening, I lived with a roommate who had a dog. Now, keep in mind that this dog is a little special (in an eat a block of sandpaper/poop/earthworms kind of way- love you, Miss Molly!), so this might not mean much- but she used to sit and stare at the wall, very intently, as if she were looking at a person or a treat. Sometimes her eyes would move like she was watching something move around. There was never anything there, not even a tiny bug. Sometimes she’d bark at whatever it was.

Then, the phantom doorbell ringer disappeared for a few years. Nothing out of the ordinary happened in the apartment- up until a few weeks ago, when the doorbell rang one afternoon. I was home alone. I went down to answer the door, and you can guess who was there. No one.

And then I started to get weird feelings and seeing things out of the corner of my eyes. I’d walk into a room and the hair on the back of my neck would stand up or I’d see a shadow dart from one side of the room to another. It happens 2-3 times a week and it totally creeps me out, if I let it.

The door to the attic is in my bedroom- it’s a full-sized door that opens to a set of very steep stairs. Recently, I woke up one morning, rolled over, and noticed that the outline of the door was very bright. I got up, opened the door, and saw that the attic light was on. I hadn’t been in the attic for weeks. I’m very careful about turning the light out when I shut the door, and, if I had left the light on for weeks, I certainly would have noticed it sooner.  I asked my roommate about it later that day, and she hadn’t been in the attic either.

It seems that my ghost is getting bolder (and wasting electricity). I just hope it stays a friendly trickster and not some evil spirit who starts tormenting me. I also hope it read my post about how much I HATE the doorbell. Stop ringing the doorbell, ghost.

Song of the Day: Only If For A Night by Florence + The Machine

5 Responses to “I Have A Ghost”

  1. Lincoln L. Hayes October 25, 2012 at 7:26 pm #

    Reblogged this on Lincoln bLogs and commented:
    Happy Halloween! Yikes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Happy Anniversary, ITYWS! | I Thought You Were Shorter - March 15, 2013

    […] soon. I know I have lots I’d like to share (how I was used to be a hoarder, an update on the ghost!!!, etc.), but I just haven’t been feeling very inspired lately. It […]

  2. A Ghostly Update | I Thought You Were Shorter - April 25, 2013

    […] few odd things have happened around my house since the first ghost post. Ha. Ghost Post. That […]

  3. The Ghost Part 3 | I Thought You Were Shorter - July 26, 2013

    […] we all know how much the ghost likes bells. […]

  4. Why Did The Ghost Cross The Road? | I Thought You Were Shorter - October 31, 2013

    […] “Yup. Was it the ghost?” […]

Leave a Reply

