Quotes of our Lives

25 Apr

The best kind of friendships are those in which, no matter how long time passes between visits, it feels as if no time has passed at all.

That’s what Rachel, our super-smart doctor friend, Alia, and I  have. We sometimes go months without seeing each other, but when we get together we pick right back up where we left off. Now, of course, we spend some time catching up on recent happenings, etc., but the jokes and witty banter are always the same. An observer once said to us, during a particularly heated game of Pop-Up Video Trivia,: “If I didn’t know any better, I would think you were drunk all the time.” I think that is by far the best way to describe the three of us.

Obviously, since we’ve all been friends for years, we have lots of inside jokes.  For instance, our guy friends in high school used to ask us all the time what we did at sleepovers. We got sick of them asking and eventually told them we did normal sleepover stuff…watch movies, do each other’s make-up…but that we did it topless. Every sleepover from there forward became known as a Topless Sleepover. We also refer to ourselves as The Trifecta. I won’t be telling you where that name came from.

The Trifecta at Alia’s wedding last fall

Whenever we’re together, we say absolutely ridiculous things.  As a way to remember all the good times, I came up with Quotes of our Lives in December of 2003.  It started out as a purple notebook that I would bring along on our various adventures to chronicle all of the funny things we said,  but when it became too cumbersome to carry around in a purse, we started using paper menus and napkins- anything we could find at the time. This notebook and all of the extra inserts have traveled with me from dorm room to dorm room and to my various post-college apartments. It never fails to cheer me up when I’m missing my girls or to make me laugh until I cry when I’m having a bad day.

None of the quotes in this notebook will make sense to anyone besides the three of us, but these are a few of my favorites:

Rachel: Look how tiny I have to be! (in reference to being shoved in the back of my car with a crap ton of luggage)

Alia: I love the periodic table.

Rachel: Richard Gere is a silver fox.

Rachel: You can’t drive to Alaska.

Bethany: We should throw this out, but we’re gonna need it!

Rachel: That’s a pretty building.
Bethany: It’s probably an insane asylum

Bethany: Wear clothes!
Alia: Weather permitting.

Rachel: Look, we had a baby! (to her brother while walking out of the movie theater we worked at in reference to the 8 year old I was babysitting)

Bethany: That didn’t make any sense; you just said letters.

Alia: I’m a one-eyed jack. (as she winks)

Bethany: Let’s get another drink and see where the night takes us…(written on an empty pack of Orbit gum)

Alia: It’s really hard being the funny one, smart one, and cute one. It’s my cross to bear.

Aaaaaaand:

Alia: I thought you were shorter. (There’s a long and not very funny backstory to this quote that I won’t explain, but we decided to name our blog after this quote in honor of Miss Alia)

Song of the Day: In This Diary by The Ataris (Rachel already quoted this song, but it’s really the most appropriate for this post)

Leave a Reply

